Malaysian Rubber Board (MRB) Innovation Awards Ceremony 2019

The MRB Innovation Awards ceremony held on November 26, 2019 was a momentous event for MRB researchers.The ceremony was officiated by YB Madam Teresa Kok, Minister of Primary Industries, at the Auditorium of Hevea Academy Malaysia, Sg. Buloh. Also present were MRB Chairman, Mr Sankara N Nair, MRB DG, YH Dato ’Dr. Zairossani Mohd Nor and Deputy Secretary General of Plantation & Commodities, MPI, Mr. Ravi Muthayah.

The event serves to recognise outstanding innovations by MRB researchers throughout 2017 and 2018. A total of seven awards were announced for Best Technical and Non-technical Publication Awards, Best Consultation Award, Best Unit Award, Best Scientist Award as well as the inaugural Best Innovation Award. A new award category was introduced for 2019, namely the Creative Service Award.

The research entitled “Improved rubber-based modified bitumen for road construction, Bituminious Cuplump (BC), Cuplump Modified Bitumen (CMB)” was awarded the Best Innovation Award for 2019. The team led by Dr. Nazirah Ahmad included 9 other researchers; Dr. Mazlina Mustafa Kamal, En. Kamarularifin Hadithon, En. Mohd Khairulniza Mansor, Dr. Azhar Ahmad, Mrs. Mahirah Mohd Idris, En. Nik Zakaria Nik Yahya, En. Muhammad Umar Zulkefli, Mrs. Spiritual Abu Bakr and Mrs. Ruhida Ab Rahim. As a token of recognition, they received RM 25,000.00, as well as trophies and certificates of appreciation.

YB Madam Teresa Kok officiated the 2019 Innovation Awards ceremony.

MRB Chairman delivered the welcome address.

Among officers who attended the 2019 MRB Innovation Awards Ceremony.

Photo session with YB Minister Madam Teresa Kok.